Drafts

I have so many potential posts sitting in my drafts folder. There has been a wide variety of strange occurrences in my life in the past few weeks, and I simply cannot wrap my thoughts up tight enough to conjure a single-subject essay of any kind. This week, instead, seems like a good time to share a poem.

 

Masculine energy

Is ever prevalent

In myself

In them

And the female president

 

It’s no comfort

To be accosted

With the deep sounds

Of patriarchy

 

This bench

I chose

Serves it’s purpose

Or so it goes

 

I will not budge

I will not fight

This bench

Is mine

It is

My right

 

This bench

I chose

Serves it’s purpose

Or so it shows

 

Masculine energy is

Ever prevalent

Sinking deeper

And deeper

Into the pavement

 

Off they go

And I still reside

On this beat up bench

That I found

Outside

 

 

6 thoughts on “Drafts

Leave a Reply

