Normalizing Discussion on Women’s Health

“Not a mother, just a woman. Not a wife, just a lover. Or am I just water?” – lyrics from an original song

I have never had an abortion.

I have never had a miscarriage.

I have never been pregnant.

I might not even be able to get pregnant.

I am happy about this.

I feel lucky.

I feel empowered.

I believe in honesty.

I believe in normalizing discussion around women’s reproductive organs.

That is why I’m here, writing this blog.

I believe we can all learn from honest, compassionate discussion.

No matter our political views.

So today I would like to talk about Planned Parenthood. About the personal experiences I have had there. I have noticed that there is a common misconception about what Planned Parenthood is and what services they provide. Throughout my 15 years of possible Endometriosis, Planned Parenthood has always been a place of hope. It has always been a place where I felt listened to. Where I felt cared for.

I went to Planned Parenthood when I was uninsured and needed my annual exam.

I went to Planned Parenthood when I was insured and couldn’t find a gynecologist close to home.

I went to Planned Parenthood for affordable birth control when the only one my health insurance “covered” was $90 per month.

I went to Planned Parenthood when I was bleeding for three weeks straight and didn’t know why.

I went to Planned Parenthood to be screened for common STDs.

Essentially, I went to Planned Parenthood when I needed basic health care.

Sexual health care is basic health care.

Basic health care is a human right.

We need Planned Parenthood to stay healthy.

It saddens me that they are constantly under attack.

That women are being shamed as they walk into a Planned Parenthood clinic whether or not they are getting an abortion.

Men can go to Planned Parenthood too.

And free condoms are never a bad thing.

After all, don’t you want to plan if or when you enter into parenthood?

2 thoughts on “Normalizing Discussion on Women’s Health

  1. This one needs sharing with Legislators! Also, if PP is collective my stories, think about sending it to them to use. Bravo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

